Live Feeds - 4,136
Total Listeners - 23,646
Top Listeners - Chicago Police De... (901)
 
Browse Feeds Top Feeds New Feeds Official Feeds Alert Feeds Archives

National Hurricane Center Skywarn Nets - Echolink Node 7203, IRLP Node 9129


US > Multiple States > Multiple Counties

Listen Feed Genre Listeners Player Selection Links Status
National Hurricane Center Skywarn Nets - Echolink Node 7203, IRLP Node 9129

Weekly VoIP SKYWARN and Hurricane Prep Net is held each Saturday evening at 8pm Eastern or 7pm Central time (Sunday 0000z). This Net activates whenever tropical weather is posing a threat to U.S. mainland.
Amateur Radio
0   Not Active

     

Feed Notes

This Net activates whenever tropical weather is posing a threat to U.S. mainland.

This is Echolink Node 7203/IRLP Node 9129 *WX_TALK* Conference Bridge. This Node connects the National Hurricane Center and Skywarn Nets all over Hurricane Alley. Amateur operators from all over the world are linked into this Net. 

This Net uses Voice Over Internet Protocol (VoIP) to reach Amateur operators regardless of location.  Two technologies are used in conjunction with one another to make this possible; Internet Radio Linking Project (IRLP), and Echolink.  Please visit (http://www.irlp.net/) and (http://www.echolink.org/) for more information.

IRLP lets Amateur operators use VHF/UHF radios to talk into a repeater that is linked to the internet.  The internet link connects another repeater at a different location and rebroadcasts the original transmission.

Echolink (simply put) uses the same technology, but also allows a computer to "tap into" that internet link anywhere an internet connection is present.

Using these two technologies has allowed the VoIP Weather Net to reach a very large audience regardless of location.

Please visit (http://www.voipwx.net/) for more information on the VoIP Weather Net. 

"Our Weekly VoIP Skywarn/Hurricane Prep Net is held each on Sunday 0000 UTC, which is Saturday Evening for most of North America."

(4pm AKST, 5pm PST, 6pm MST, 7pm CST, 8pm EST)

 

Statewide in the following states; TX, LA, MS, AL, FL, GA, SC, NC, VA, MD, DE, PA, NJ, NY, CT, RI, MA, VT, and ME.